New York Mustang Club

New York Mustangs - Forums » Non-specific Tech » General Tech » Stereo / Electrical » 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap





Reply
Old 05-20-2009   #1
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

I found a wreck 07 and a 08 mustang GT at my local junkyard. I was thinking about taking the intrument cluster out of the 07 GT and installing installing on my v6. Is all the work worth it? any additional parts I need? I got quoted $75 for the cluster. Has anybody here done this conversion before. I really want the "MyColor" feature along with the info screen.
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #2
 
97modgt's Avatar
 
Location: Tupper Lake
Age: 35
Posts: 738
Liked: 21 times
97modgt's Pictures
97modgt's latest status update: Goodmorning New York Mustangs
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

the V6 cluster in the past went to 120MPH and the GT went to 150MPH. I don't know about new ones but that might be something to look into.
__________________
97modgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #3
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

I've seen in another forum that it is possible, but you have to get the cluster programed at a ford dealership to get your odometer matched up
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #4
Super Moderator / Member Plus / Formally Wicked Xtreme
 
Wicked One's Avatar
 
Location: westchester
Posts: 10,607
Liked: 824 times
NYM Trader: 3
Wicked One's Pictures Wicked One's Garage
Wicked One's latest status update: Make sure brain is engaged before putting mouth into gear!!
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

It can be installed rather easily, but you are gonna have to get it recalibrated by ford. it is all computer, not like the old days of sending units and cables. I don't know what they charge.
__________________
Make sure to check out the NYM STORE.

Advertise On NYM!! details here



Wicked One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #5
 
97modgt's Avatar
 
Location: Tupper Lake
Age: 35
Posts: 738
Liked: 21 times
97modgt's Pictures
97modgt's latest status update: Goodmorning New York Mustangs
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

I need to get the lowdown on all this computer stuff. Thats where the money it at.
__________________
97modgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #6
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

can you help me install it? I'll buy you a beer
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #7
 
97modgt's Avatar
 
Location: Tupper Lake
Age: 35
Posts: 738
Liked: 21 times
97modgt's Pictures
97modgt's latest status update: Goodmorning New York Mustangs
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

I am not nearby at the moment. I would be glad to though.
__________________
97modgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #8
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

what about you wicked?? free beer to the person who helps me install this cluster!
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009   #9
Super Moderator / Member Plus / Formally Wicked Xtreme
 
Wicked One's Avatar
 
Location: westchester
Posts: 10,607
Liked: 824 times
NYM Trader: 3
Wicked One's Pictures Wicked One's Garage
Wicked One's latest status update: Make sure brain is engaged before putting mouth into gear!!
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

Still on house arrest. If I recall correctly the cover just pops off, and then there are 6 screws holding the cluster in.
__________________
Make sure to check out the NYM STORE.

Advertise On NYM!! details here



Wicked One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009   #10
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

Got to call up a ford dealership and see how much they charge to sync up the mileage
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009   #11
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

In order for the cluster swap to work. Don't I need any function buttons?
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009   #12
Member Plus / One of the first
 
Ghostly Echo's Avatar
 
Location: bronx
Age: 36
Posts: 4,503
Liked: 78 times
NYM Trader: 5
Ghostly Echo's Pictures Ghostly Echo's Garage
Ghostly Echo's latest status update: Looking for hennessy drinkers
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangRob View Post
In order for the cluster swap to work. Don't I need any function buttons?

those ur middle console above the radio in the top left corner look like mines ?
Thats the button to control the display options

__________________
I AM BACK 2019 RETURN OF THE MUSTANG

or maybe a 2017 undecided
Ghostly Echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009   #13
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

are those switches plug and play? I have like 3 buttons there but they don't push in. just seems like a cover. I'm thinking those have to be pried off
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009   #14
Member Plus / One of the first
 
Ghostly Echo's Avatar
 
Location: bronx
Age: 36
Posts: 4,503
Liked: 78 times
NYM Trader: 5
Ghostly Echo's Pictures Ghostly Echo's Garage
Ghostly Echo's latest status update: Looking for hennessy drinkers
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangRob View Post
are those switches plug and play? I have like 3 buttons there but they don't push in. just seems like a cover. I'm thinking those have to be pried off

i think u need to replace that panel for it to work and then i dont know if theres a plug for the switches behind it, you have to remove the center arm rest and pull it off to see in there.
__________________
I AM BACK 2019 RETURN OF THE MUSTANG

or maybe a 2017 undecided
Ghostly Echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009   #15
 
MustangRob's Avatar
 
Location: Queens
Age: 32
Posts: 258
MustangRob's Pictures
MustangRob's latest status update: in the market for a nice foxbody
Default Re: 2007 v6 to GT instrument cluster swap

thats a PITA...
__________________
MustangRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Install LED Lights in Instrument Cluster MustangCars.info Write Up's, How To's, Installation / Uprgrade Info 21 08-29-2013 08:04 PM
Gauge Cluster 94 GT Nosty94 Interior 0 05-06-2009 09:54 PM
03-04 Mach1 Gauge Cluster Stangerang Want To Buy / Trade (WTB / WTT) 7 04-20-2009 09:22 PM
Guage Cluster Question Foxbody5.8 5.0 Mustangs 3 03-26-2009 09:37 PM
98 Cobra Cluster! Gus98GT Interior 3 02-25-2009 02:24 AM

Share On

Posting Rules